Skill accreditation program for Community Forestry Facilitators

COFSUN, Nepal is continually facilitating for Community Forestry Skill Test Level-1 and Level-2 exams with CTEVT/NSTB, in collaboration with DoF, FECOFUN and others, since its establishment. We are periodically organizing skill test orientation programmes in different parts of the country to increase a skillful human resource in the field of community forestry.

Skill Testing System in Nepal

The availability of skilled human resources is an important aspect for the economic development of nation. The quality and standard of skills learned from formal, non-formal and informal means is also important for Nepal’s workforce to make them competitive in national and international labor market. The traditional craftsmen, occupational groups, informally and/ or non-formally trained people and semi-skilled workforce of the industry need their skills certified by an agency recognized by private & public sector. The National skill Testing Board (NSTB) of Council for Technical Education and Vocational Training (CTEVT) has the mandate as well as experience of skill testing & certification.

Skill testing activity was initiated in Nepal in 1983 through an autonomous body called skill Testing Authority (STA), which introduced a system of occupational classification, development of skill standards, skill testing and certification based upon the guidelines of Asia and pacific Skill Development program/ International Labor Organization (APSDEP/ILO). After the CTEVT was constituted in 1989, the STA was placed under the umbrella of CTEVT as Skill Testing Division (STD). Since them the division has been functioning as the secretariat of National Skill Testing Board (NSTB), which has been attached to the council. Till date, NSTB has developed occupational skill standards in 153 different occupations and 10675 crafts persons are certified.

Occupational Skill Standard:
An Occupational Skill Standard is written specification of the practical skills, underlying knowledge, and experience demonstrated by an individual in a particular occupation.

Skill Test:
A skill test is the corresponding performance test based on the occupational skill standard which must be demonstrated by every individual to obtain a “NATIONAL SKILL CERTIFICATE” indicating that the certificate holder meets the requirement of a trade/ occupation.

Target Group of Skill Test:
Occupational/ Trade skill tests are open to all skilled workers and crafts persons. Principally, skill testing reaches out to three different target groups:

  • Pass- outs from pre- employment vocational training wishing to facilitate their transition to work
  • Experienced workers (employed or unemployed) lacking an official certification
  • Workers who, at the end of in-service training, seek an upgraded or additional certificate

Requirements to participate in Skill Test:

1. Nepalese Citizenship Card
2. PP size photo*4 nos, Auto size photo *nos
3. Age 16 years or above
4. Other eligibility as follows,

The requirements to participate in the skill test are as follows:

Skill Level- Elementary

Skill Test Level-I

Literate with knowledge and skill in the relevant occupation with minimum of one year work experience in a related occupation/trade.
Successful completion of one month (160 Hours) vocational training in relevant occupation/trade.
Vocational training with six months’ work experience in the relevant occupation/trade.

Skill Test Level –II

Literate with knowledge and skill in the relevant occupation with minimum of three tears word experience in a relevant occupation/trade.
One year training (min. 600 hrs theory and 800 hrs practical) in relevant occupation/trade.
One year’s work experience after the sevel-1 ST certificate passed in relevant occupation/trade.

Accreditation of skill Test Certificate for Employment:

NSTB skill Level Existing level description
Level-4 Gazetted 3rd officer (Tech.)
Level-3 Non -Gazetted 1st class (Tech.)
Level-2 Non -Gazetted 2nd class (Tech.)
Level-1 Non -Gazetted 3rd class (Tech.)

For more detail on Community Forestry Skill Test please visit CTECT/NSTB

Districts having Skill Test passed Members

Eastern Development Region Central Development Region Western Development Region Mid-Western Development Region Far-Western Development Region
Jhapa Dolakha Baglung Bardia Darchula
Ilam Rasuwa Gulmi Dailekh Kanchanpur
Taplejung Dhading Palpa Surkhet Dadeldhura
Solukhumbu Sindhupalchok Syangja Humla Kailali
Khotang Kabhrepalanchok Gorkha Jajarkot
Tehrathum Ramechhap Parbat Dang
Dhankuta Bara Lamjung Jumla
Bhojpur Rupandehi Banke
Siraha Arghakhachi Rolpa
Saptari Rukum
Sunsari Pyuthan
Morang Salyan